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Labor Standards Enforcement

The wages, hours, and working conditions of private sector employees in California are governed by provisions of the Labor Code and wage orders (i.e. regulations) promulgated by the Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC). 

The California Constitution empowers the Legislature to provide for minimum wages and the general welfare of employees and for those purposes may confer on a commission legislative, executive and judicial powers.  The Legislature has delegated these powers to the Industrial Welfare Commission. 

These laws and wage orders are enforced by the Chief of the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement, also known as the Labor Commissioner.  In addition, the Labor Commissioner determines and collects unpaid wages, licenses farm labor contractors, industrial homework firms, and talent agencies, registers garment manufacturers, and performs field enforcement relating to unlicensed contractors and cash pay.  

Significant Legislation

SB 179 (Alarcón) provides that any person or entity that enters into a contract for labor or services, in specified industries, that knows or should know that the contract does not provide sufficient funds to comply with various laws, violates state law, and employees would be able to recover actual damages through civil action.  Also, to provide a rebuttable presumption that a person or entity that enters into a voluntary written agreement with specified criteria does not violate the proposed law.

Background

Existing law provides a framework of labor law enforcement of, among other things, minimum standards for wages, hours, conditions of employment, and occupational safety and health by the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR).  The Employment Development Department administers the unemployment insurance, and state disability insurance programs, and requires that employers pay specified employee payroll taxes.

SB 179 has two major provisions.  It:

1) provides that any person or entity that enters into a contract for labor or services for construction, farm labor, garment manufacturing, janitorial services, or security guard services, that knows or should know that the contract does not provide sufficient funds to comply with various local, state, and federal labor laws, violates state law. 

If aggrieved employees plead and prove in a private court action that they were also injured by a violation of a labor law or regulation in connection with the performance of the contract or agreement, they would be able to recover the greater of all actual damages or $250 per employee for each initial violation, and $1,000 per employee for each subsequent violation, and recover costs and reasonable attorney’s fees; the same right to fees would apply for injunctive relief.

Homeowners and employment covered by a collective bargaining agreement would be exempt from these provisions.

2) establishes to a rebuttable presumption that a person or entity that enters into a voluntary written agreement with a contractor does not violate these provisions if the written agreement, and successive amendments thereto, is in a single document and contains all the following criteria: 

-  information identifying the person or entity or contractor performing the services;

-  a description of the labor and services to be performed, including a commencement and

   completion date;

 
-  employer identification number for state tax purposes of the contractor;

-  proof of workers’ compensation coverage, including insurance contact information;

-  for vehicles utilized for transportation in connection with a service, detailed

   information relating to insurance carrier and coverage;

-  the address of any real property to house workers;

-  the estimated number of workers to be employed, total wages to be paid, and the pay
   dates; and 

-  amounts of commissions or other payments made to the contractor for services; and

-  the estimated number and identification of independent contractors to be  utilized.

If some of this information is not known at the time of contract, then the bill requires the "best estimate" available at the time.

Written agreements would be required to be kept by the person or entity for at least 4 years after termination of the agreement.

Comments:

1.    Proponents argue that this measure attacks the hidden use of unfair economic leverage to influence labor contractors to enter into contracts that are financially inadequate to permit the contractor to comply with applicable laws.  While employers usually claim they are unaware of abuses committed by their contractors, the reality is just the opposite. This measure does not require written contracts, rather it encourages them for sound business practices.

Some janitorial and security guard industry representatives state that this measure is necessary to weed out illegal and unethical employers in their industries.

Supporters cite federal and state evidence of Underground Economy enterprises that are unfair competition to law-abiding employers.  These lawless operations pay little or no taxes, and fail to abide by minimum labor standards.  Industry examples are highlighted: 

In the garment industry, the US Department of Labor estimates that 67% of Los Angeles garment shops violated minimum wage and overtime laws.  Also, many contractors claim that they were not given sufficient funds by principal garment manufacturers to pay workers.

In the janitorial industry, industry supporters of this measure argue that a massive influx of unethical contractors have been given the upper hand in competing for cleaning contracts, and are ruining law-abiding businesses.

In agriculture, various surveys show that most growers using farm labor contractors were paying fees so low that either the government was not receiving mandate taxes, or else the farm workers were being paid below the minimum wage. 

Construction labor law violations typically involve use of bad checks, cash pay, and no workers’ compensation insurance coverage. 

2.    Opponents from the covered industries argue that this measure would require contracts to include several onerous and burdensome requirements that a normal contract for labor in any other industry would not require.  Small companies who are suffering financially at the present time can ill afford additional costs of hiring an attorney to draft a contract every time they use a specialty contractor, just to obtain a rebuttable presumption that there has been no violations of law. 

Many opponents argue that this measure would halt businesses from offering an introductory discount to obtain the business of a first-time customer. 

Opponents state that supporters wrongly assume that harm necessarily flows from business contracts.  This measure makes law-abiding employers law breakers for engaging in lawful business transactions from which no harm results.  It would also have the unintended consequence of hurting a contractor’s employees by denying them work opportunities in such situations.

Most businesses seek the lowest responsible bidder for competitive contracts.  They leave it up to the bidding contractor to determine how to deliver the services requested at the most affordable price, and must maintain a belief that the contractor’s bid is not based on illegal activities.   

3.    “Knowing” Standard: The “know” or “should have known” terms are common legal standards by which an ordinary, reasonable person in like or similar circumstances would have known.   This measure defines the terms as follows:


The term “knows” includes the knowledge, arising from a familiarity with the normal facts and circumstances of the business activity engaged in, that the contract does not include funds sufficient to allow the contractor to comply with applicable laws.


The phrase “should know” includes the knowledge of any additional facts or information, which would make a reasonably prudent person undertake to inquire whether, taken together, such facts suggest that the contract does not include funds sufficient to allow the contractor to comply with applicable laws.

4.  Recent Hearing on the Underground Economy:  On March 18, 2003, this committee conducted an extensive hearing on the harmful effects of the Underground Economy.

Among other things, it was ascertained that the lawless enterprises deprive state treasuries over $4 billion in lost tax revenues.

SB 796 (Dunn) allows employees to sue their employers for civil penalties for employment law violations.  It is intended to augment the enforcement abilities of the Labor Commissioner by creating an alternative "private attorney general" system for labor law enforcement.

Background

Existing law authorizes the state Labor and Workforce Development Agency (LWDA) (comprised of the Department of Industrial Relations, the Employment Development Department, the Agricultural Labor Relations Board, and the Workforce Investment Board) to assess and collect civil penalties for violations of the Labor Code, where specified.

Also, existing law authorizes the Attorney General and other public prosecutors to pursue misdemeanor charges against violators of specified provisions of the code.

Existing law authorizes an individual employee to file a claim with the Labor Commissioner alleging that his or her employer has violated specified provisions of the code, and to sue the employer directly for damages, reinstatement, and other appropriate relief if the Commissioner declines to bring an action based on the employee's complaint.

Any person acting for itself, its members, or the general public, may sue to enjoin any unlawful, unfair, or fraudulent business act or practice, and to recover restitution of any profits from the unlawful activity.

SB 796 enacts the "Labor Code Private Attorneys General Act of 2004", and establishes an alternative "private attorney general" system for labor law enforcement that allows employees to pursue civil penalties for employment law violations.  It:

1. Establishes a civil penalty where one is not specifically provided under the Labor Code of $100 for each aggrieved employee per pay period for an initial violation, and $200 for each aggrieved employee per pay period for subsequent violations.  The penalty will be $500 per 

violation for a violator who is not an employer.

2. Specifies that where the LWDA or any of its subdivisions has discretion to assess civil penalties, a court may exercise the same discretion with respect to the civil penalties established by this bill.  Moreover, the civil penalties do not apply if the alleged violation is a failure to act by the LWDA or any of its subdivisions.

3. Authorizes aggrieved employees to sue to recover civil penalties under the Labor Code in an action brought on behalf of himself or herself and other current or former employees against whom one or more of the alleged violations was committed.  However, no private action may 

be maintained where the LWDA or any of its subdivisions initiates proceedings against the alleged violator on the same facts and theories and under the same section or sections of the Labor Code.

4. Provides that civil penalties recovered against a person that employs one or more employees shall be distributed as follows:  50 percent to the General Fund (GF), 25 percent to LWDA for employer and employee education; and, 25 percent to the aggrieved employees.  Civil penalties 

recovered against persons that do not employ one or more employees are to be divided evenly between GF and LWDA.

5. Provides for the award of reasonable attorney's fees and costs to an aggrieved employee who prevails in such an action.  Provides that this bill is not intended to affect the exclusive remedy provided by workers' compensation provisions of existing law.

Comments:

1. Proponents argue that SB 796 will address inadequacies in labor law enforcement in two major ways.  First, it assigns nominal civil fine amounts to the large number of Labor Code provisions, which currently carry criminal, but not civil, penalties.  Second, it authorizes the filing of civil actions to recover existing and new civil penalties by aggrieved workers acting as private attorneys general.

Many Labor Code provisions are not enforced because they are punishable only as criminal 

misdemeanors, with no civil penalty or other sanction attached.  Since district attorneys tend to direct their resources to violent crimes and other public priorities, Labor Code violations rarely result in criminal investigations and prosecutions.  Proponents also contend that the state's current inability to enforce labor laws effectively is due to inadequate staffing and the continued growth of the underground economy.  

This inability, coupled with the state's severe budgetary shortfall requires a creative solution that will help the state crack down on labor law violators.  Therefore, private actions to enforce the provisions of the Labor Code are necessary to ensure compliance with the law.

2. Opponents contend that this bill tips the balance of labor law protection in disproportionate favor to the employee to the detriment of already overburdened employers. Several employer groups cite the fact that employees are entitled to attorney's fees and costs if they prevail in their action under SB 796, yet similar attorney's fees and costs are not provided for prevailing employers.  Additionally, opponents cite the fact that there is no requirement imposed upon employees prior to filing civil action such as preliminary claim filing with the Labor Commissioner.

Opponents also express concern that this bill will encourage private attorneys to "act as vigilantes" pursuing frivolous violations on behalf of different employees.  Opponents liken 

the danger of this bill to recent alleged abuse of Business and  Professions Code Section  17200.

_______________________________ 2003 LEGISLATION ___________________________

SB 57

Burton





Minimum wage: indexing.







   Held in Senate Committee on Appropriations

Automatically adjusts the hourly minimum wage on January 1, 2004, and each year thereafter based on the California Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers. 

SB 75

Burton




           Agricultural labor relations.









         Chapter 870, Statutes of 2003

Repeals sunset provision of binding mediation law for farm workers covered by the Agricultural Labor Relations Act.  Adds criteria for mediator consideration, and requires ALRB to compile a list of certifications that have not obtained a collective bargaining agreement.

SB 179

Alarcón




      Financially sufficient contracts.

         Chapter 908, Statutes of 2003

Provide that any person or entity that enters into a contract for labor or services, in specified industries, that knows or should know that the contract does not provide sufficient funds to comply with various laws, violates state law, and employees would be able to recover actual damages through civil action.  Also, to provide a rebuttable presumption that a person or entity that enters into a voluntary written agreement with specified criteria does not violate the proposed law.

SB 197

Burton



 Registered Nurses: meal and rest periods 

Held on Assembly Floor

Provides treble civil penalties for acute care hospitals that are operated for profit and who fail to give registered nurses meal or rest periods.

SB 390

Romero



          Department of Industrial Relations.

        Held in the Senate Committee on Labor and

                                                 Industrial Relations

Revises the description of this function of the Department of Industrial Relations to include the improvement of wage earner benefits in addition to the improvement of working conditions and the advancement of opportunities for profitable employment.

SB  478
Dunn



       



      Victims of crime: 

 





    work absences for judicial proceedings.









         Chapter 630, Statutes of 2003

Enables employees who are (1) crime victims; (2) the immediate family members of crime victims; (3) the registered domestic partners of crime victims; (4) the children of the registered domestic partners of crime victims; and, (5) derivative victims, to be absent from work to attend scheduled judicial proceedings, and to provide for reinstatement and reimbursement if an employer takes an adverse employment action against an employee who is absent from work for this purpose.

SB 534

Romero


          Employment rights: applicable federal law.










Held on the Assembly Floor

Prohibits the use of short-handled tools and hand weeding, as specified, for weeding, thinning or hot-capping in agricultural operations.

SB 535

Romero




           Wages:  multiple employers.

   Held in the Senate Committee on 

      Labor and Industrial Relations

Permits an employee who is engaged in employment that involves working for several employers in the same industry to opt out of a plan where the payment of wages is made at a central place other than the place of employment, by providing written notice to the Labor Commissioner of his or her intent to opt out of the plan.

SB 573

Alarcón


   Employee wages and working hours:  violators.

Held in the Senate Committee on Appropriations

Requires the Labor Commissioner, in consultation with the Franchise Tax Board and the Joint Enforcement Strike Force on the Underground Economy to establish, by July 1, 2004, a trigger for a Labor Commissioner recommendation of an employer tax audit to state tax authorities, and to impose specified notification, recommendation and record keeping requirements on the Commissioner regarding that trigger once established. 

SB 586

Alarcón






           Unpaid wages.

   Held in the Senate Committee on

      Labor and Industrial Relations

Requires the Labor Commissioner to, in addition to any award ordered by the Labor Commissioner, impose on an employer found to owe back wages a penalty equal to 1% of the total amount owed by the employer.  It creates a special account in the Unpaid Wage Fund and would require the Labor Commissioner to deposit the penalty moneys in the special account to be used, upon appropriation by the Legislature, to pay employees the unpaid balance of any monetary relief ordered by the Labor Commissioner.

SB 661

Cedillo






 Definition of Labor.

Held in the Senate Committee on Labor

                           and Industrial Relations

Revises the definition of “labor” to include labor, work, or service, as specified, if the labor to be paid for is performed personally by the person demanding or seeking payment.

SB 796

Dunn


         Private Attorneys General; labor law enforcement.









         Chapter 906, Statutes of 2003

Enacts the “Labor Code Private Attorneys General Act of 2004”, with four components:

1) Authorizes recovery through civil action of civil penalties provided for under the Labor Code by authorizing aggrieved employees to act as PAG on behalf of themselves or others where the Agency does not pursue such an action.


2) Establishes civil penalties where the Labor Code is silent in the amount of  $100 per employee per pay period for the initial violation and $200 per employee per pay period for subsequent violations when the “person” employs one or more employees and $500 per violation where the “person” does not employ one or more employees.


3) Provides for a distribution formula as follows for penalties collected by an aggrieved individual: 50% to the General Fund, 25% to the Agency and 25% to the aggrieved employee. 


4) Provides for the award of attorneys’ fees and costs to aggrieved employees who prevail, in whole or in part in these civil actions.

SB 800

Florez






    Farm Labor Contractors.

        Held in the Senate Committee on Labor and 

                                                 Industrial Relations

Directs the Department of Industrial Relations to establish a toll-free number so that alleged illegal actions by the farm labor contractors can be anonymously reported. Also, directs the department to create a directory, available to prospective employers, dispensing information regarding the status of and farm labor contractor's license and any violations or investigations of violations.  Lastly, requires the department to establish an appeal process for farm labor contractor license suspensions and revocations, and would require the Labor Commissioner to provide prescribed notice of any license suspension, revocation, or reinstatement to any person having an agreement with a farm labor contractor.  

SB 1010
Poochigian





   Employment Law: repeal.

       




    Reconsideration granted: 

   Held in the Senate Committee on

  

      Labor and Industrial Relations

Repeals specific employment laws relating to wages and mandated benefits, and makes findings and declarations regarding the economic crisis confronting the state and its businesses.  The recently enacted laws are: AB 60 (Knox) of 1999 [Chapter 143, Statutes of 1999] enacted the Eight-Hour-Day Restoration and Workplace Flexibility Act.  AB 2509 (Goldberg) of 2002 [Chapter 298, Statutes of 2002] related to local government labor standards.  SB 975 (Alarcón) of 2001 [Chapter 938, Statutes of 2001] expanded the scope of prevailing wages on public works.  AB 749 (Calderon) of 2002 [Chapter 6, Statutes of 2002] increased workers’ compensation benefits. AB 2816 (Shelley) of 2002 [Chapter 1098, Statutes of 2002] relates to workers’ compensation rates and temporary employment agencies. 


SB 1011
Battin





 Public contracting: repeal of laws.






Failed passage; reconsideration granted






in Senate Labor and Industrial Relations Committee

Repeals recently enacted legislation that 1) expands the employee benefits required of state agency personal service contracts for janitorial, housekeeping, and security guard services, and 2) requires an awarding body of public work that chooses to use funds from the School Bond Acts to initiate a labor compliance program. Also, it makes findings and declarations regarding the economic crisis confronting the state and its businesses.


SCR 20
Burton



           Immigrant Workers Freedom Ride






Resolution Chapter 125, Statutes of 2003

Endorses the Immigrant Workers Freedom Ride, a coalition efforts to affect humane immigration law reform, and its goals; to support and assist the Ride in the state; and, call on local governments to adopt this same measure.

SBX1 1
Poochigian





        Suspension of Statutes.

     


         Reported out to Secretary of Senate: 

        Without further action

Suspends statutes relating to workers' compensation, labor standards, and agricultural labor relations, will take effect on January 1, 2003.  It would provide that these statutes shall not become operative until the date the Governor issues a proclamation declaring that the California economy has fully recovered from the recession that began in 2000.

AB 76

Corbett




          Employment Discrimination.









       Chapter  671 , Statutes of 2003

Prohibits harassment of an employee in the workplace by a person other than an employee, agent, or supervisor of the employer.  It is intended to invalidate a recent state appellate court's ruling. 

AB 98             Koretz





        Meal periods and rest periods.









         Chapter 327, Statutes of 2003

Codifies anticipated action by Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC) by providing that if the IWC adopts or amends the wage order pertaining to commercial motor vehicle operation, the IWC may exempt employees covered by valid collective bargaining agreements from provisions of the wage order relating to meal and rest periods.

AB 135
Reyes





           On-air broadcast employees.






Held on Senate Floor

Implements the Broadcast Industry Freedom of Contract Act by prohibiting the inclusion of specified restrictive terms or clauses in employment contracts between broadcast employers and on-air employees.

Defines prospective employment access restriction as a clause in a contract, which (1) requires an on-air employee to negotiate exclusively with a broadcast employer concerning continued or future employment that commences after the term of the employment contract, during the final six months of an employment contract or after the term of an employment contract; (2) prohibits or limits an on-air employee, during any portion of the term of an employment contract with a broadcast employer, from communicating or negotiating with any third party or entering into an agreement of any kind concerning employment that commences after the term of the employment contract; or (3) imposes any "first-refusal" or other obligations upon an on-air employee, permitting a broadcast employer to prevent an on-air employee from accepting employment that commences after the term of the employment contract with a new prospective employer by matching the compensation or other benefits offered by the new prospective employer. 

Additionally, provides that it is an unlawful employment practice for a broadcast employer to include in any employment contract with an on-air employee a provision that is a prospective employment access restriction. 

Authorizes an aggrieved party to bring an action for damages or for declaratory or injunctive relief, as well as attorney's fees and costs. Entitles an aggrieved employee to recover actual damages or $5,000, whichever is greater. 
AB 223
Diaz








 Employment.









           Chapter 93, Statutes of 2003

Overturns a recent holding of the California Supreme Court regarding the award of attorneys fees and costs following the unsuccessful appeal of a Labor Commissioner  decision or award to the trial court, and specifies that an employee is successful in the appeal of a Labor Commissioner award so long as the employee recovers an amount greater than zero. 

AB  276
Koretz




          Penalties for Labor Code violations.









         Chapter 329, Statutes of 2003

Increases the fines and civil penalties for specified violations of the Labor Code, and earmarks a portion of the increased penalties to a fund dedicated to educating employers about their obligations under state labor law. 

AB 330
Parra







 Working conditions.









         Chapter 207, Statutes of 2003

Exempts from the meal period requirement in existing law, certain employees in the wholesale baking industry who are covered by a valid collective bargaining agreement, as specified. 

AB 1132
Koretz








 Employment.









         Chapter 214, Statutes of 2003

Amends enforcement and appeal procedures following the confiscation of goods unlawfully manufactured in the home by establishing a procedure whereby the destruction and disposal of such goods does not require court authorization if there is no challenge to the confiscation.

AB 1133
Koretz








 Employment.










      
 Vetoed by Governor

Provides for automatic 100% increases, every six months, to judgements for nonpayment of wages or penalties entered against employers for violations of provisions of the Labor Code relating to payment of wages, as specified. 


AB 1397
Longville







     Jury Duty.

   Held in the Senate Committee on

      Labor and Industrial Relations

Prohibits an employer from taking any adverse action or requiring an employee to use vacation, personal leave, or compensatory time off for time spent on jury duty. Violations of these provisions would be a misdemeanor.

AB 1688
Goldberg



 Car washes: labor standards registration.









         Chapter 825, Statutes of 2003

Establishes a system to regulate the employment of workers in the car washing and polishing industry; it would sunset January 1, 2007.

AB 1721
Assembly Committee on Labor and Employment


      Labor violations.

     Held in the Senate Business and

                    Professions Committee

Establishes a posting requirement for employers that willfully or intentionally violate wage and hour laws.  

It was later amended to have Assemblyman Koretz as author and referred to pricing policies.

* * *

Occupational Safety and Health

The State of California has been actively involved in workplace safety and health since 1911 and administers its own workplace safety and health program according to provisions of the Federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970.  The federal act permits a state to manage its own occupational safety and health program (a so-called “state plan” state) if it meets certain federal requirements.  Among other things, California standards must be at least as effective as all federal standards for which federal standards have been promulgated.

The California program, known as Cal-OSHA, was approved by federal OSHA in 1973.

Cal-OSHA was praised by President Reagan as the best worker safety and health program in the country.

Cal-OSHA covers virtually all workers in the state, including those employed by state and local governments.  Cal-OSHA does not cover federal employees, offshore maritime workers, or domestic service workers in private households.  Cal-OSHA standards are contained in the California Code of Regulations, Title 8, Industrial Relations.

Major units within Cal-OSHA include: 

Division of Occupational Safety and Health (DOSH)--enforces worker safety and health standards and regulations. 

Cal-OSHA Consultation Service--offers free training and consultation to assist both employers and their employees in complying with workplace safety and health regulations. 

OSHA Standards Board--adopts, amends and repeals the standards and regulations. 

OSHA Appeals Board--hears appeals regarding Cal-OSHA enforcement actions. 

Some DOSH responsibilities are mandated by state law only and do not receive federal funding. 

They include:

Certification of employers and consultants involved in asbestos-related work. 

Issuing permits for operation of elevators and aerial passenger tramways. 

Issuing permits for portable and permanent amusement rides and bungee jumping. 

Inspecting mines, tanks and boilers. 

Certification of loss control services of workers' compensation carriers. 

Responding to complaints of smoking in an enclosed place of employment if the employer has been found guilty of a third violation within the previous year.

_________________________ 2003 LEGISLATION _______________________________

SB 755

Torlakson




        Permanent Amusement Rides.

    Held in the Senate Committee on Labor

                              and Industrial Relations

Generally limits, with specified exemptions, minors, and prohibits intoxicated persons, from operating or attending to permanent amusement rides. 

AB 572
Yee








 Employment.
   


           Failed passage  

    From Senate committee without further action

Strengthens protections for workers exercising their rights to report hazardous working conditions or to refuse to work under such conditions, increasing penalties for retaliatory acts by employers.

AB 643
Mullin


         



     Occupational Safety and 

     Health Standards Board: membership.











Vetoed by Governor

Revises the procedures by which members of the Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board are appointed and permitted to retain membership upon the expiration of their term, and revises membership criterion.

AB 1507
Negrete McLeod





     Amusement rides.










           Held on Senate Floor

As it was heard before the Senate Labor and Industrial Relations Committee, it recognized travelling carnival owners as owners of amusement rides for inspection and certification of safety.

It was later amended to refer to intermodal marine equipment.

AB 1719
Assembly Committee on Labor and Employment

  Working hours and 

          safety in employment.









         Chapter 884, Statutes of 2003

Strengthens the notification and reporting requirements in existing law regarding complaints filed with the Cal-OSHA and defines "hours worked" to include all the hours an employee has suffered or permitted to work, whether or not the employee is required to work. 


Public Works & Prevailing Wages

Existing law requires, except for public works projects of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or less, the payment of not less than the general prevailing rate of per diem wages for work of a similar character in the locality in which the public work is performed, and not less than the general prevailing rate of per diem wages for holiday and overtime work to be paid to all workers employed on public works.

The Director of the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) is required to determine the general prevailing rate of per diem wages in accordance with specified standards.

An awarding body shall not require the payment of the general prevailing rate of per diem wages or the general prevailing rate of per diem wages for holiday and overtime work for any public works project of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or less when the project is for construction work, or for any public works project of fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) or less when the project is for alteration, demolition, repair, or maintenance work, if the awarding body 

elects to initiate and enforce a labor compliance program, as specified.

Senate Bill No. 975 (Alarcón), Chapter 938, Statutes of 2001, made  several changes to the law:

1)  Includes "installation" in the existing definition of "public works."

2)  Defines "public funds" used in public works as the following:

a)   Payment of money or the equivalent of money by a state or political subdivision directly to or on behalf of the public works contractor, subcontractor, or developer.

b)  Construction work performed by a state or political subdivision in execution of a project.

c)  Transfer of an asset of value for less than fair market price.

d)  Fees, costs, rents, insurance or bond premiums, loans, interest rates, or other obligations normally required in the execution of a contract that are paid, reduced, charged at less than fair market value, waived or forgiven.

e)  Repayment of money and credits applied on a contingent basis.

3)  States that if the state or political subdivision provides a direct or indirect subsidy to a private developer or reimburses a private developer for costs that would normally be paid by the state or political subdivision, then the project is not subject to the requirements of this bill if the costs or subsidy are de minimums in the context of the overall project.

4)  Exempts the following from the definition of "paid for in whole or in part out of public funds":

a) Affordable housing for low- or moderate-income persons either financed solely through the Low- and Moderate-Income Housing Fund established pursuant to current law or financed through a combination of the Fund and private funds.

b) Qualified residential projects financed on or before December 31, 2003, that are in whole or in part financed through bonds issued by the California Debt Limit Allocation Committee in the Office of the State Treasurer, unless another statute, ordinance, or regulation, applies this chapter to the qualified residential project.

c) Single family residential projects financed on or before December 31, 2003, that are financed in whole or in part through qualified mortgage revenue bonds, qualified veterans' mortgage bonds, and mortgage revenue certificates issued under the Qualified Mortgage Credit Certificate Program in the Office of the State Treasurer, unless another statute, ordinance, or regulation, applies this chapter to the single family residential project.

d) Low income housing projects that are allocated federal and state low income housing tax credits on or before December 31, 2003 by the Office of the State Treasurer, unless another statute, ordinance, or regulation, applies the provisions of this bill to the low income housing project.

e) Private residential housing on private land that is not built pursuant an agreement with a state agency, a redevelopment agency, or a local public housing authority.

f) Private development projects built on private property that are required by a state or political subdivision to construct improvements, if the following two conditions are met:

i)  The state or political subdivision contributes no more money, or the equivalent of money, 

          
to the overall project than that which is required to perform the public work of

          
improvement.

ii)  The state or political subdivision maintains no proprietary interest in the overall project.

________________________________2003 LEGISLATION ________________________

SB 730

Burton




 Prevailing rate of per diem wages:

        Determinations.











  Senate Inactive File

Requires the Director of the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) to (1) make initial prevailing wage determinations within 60 days and appeal determinations within 30 days; and, (2) maintain a public log of information pertaining to prevailing wage requests.

SB 868

Dunn





Prevailing Wages: payroll records.









         Chapter 905, Statutes of 2003

Revises the definition of per diem wages so that those wages shall be deemed to include the following:

1. Employer payments for worker protection and assistance programs or joint labor-management committees established pursuant to federal law that are engaged in labor compliance programs; and,

2. Employer payments for industry advancement and collective bargaining agreements administrative fees.

SB 966

Alarcón




 Prevailing wages on public works: 

    contractor’s costs.









         Chapter 804, Statutes of 2003

Permits a contractor to recover increased costs from an awarding body of public works, if the work has been determined to be subject to prevailing wages after the job has begun.

AB 324           Diaz



         Public Works: labor compliance programs:










  school construction.









         Chapter 834, Statutes of 2003

Codifies state regulations requiring a labor compliance program on a public works project be approved by the Director of the Industrial Relations (DIR), and modifies the formula that provides reimbursement for increased costs associated with labor compliance programs pursuant to the School Bonds Acts.

AB 807
Leno





      Public works:  prevailing wage.









         Chapter 839, Statutes of 2003

Provides that an employer may only credit pension or other contributions against their prevailing wage obligations when the employer makes such contributions on at least a quarterly basis.

AB 852
Lieber



      Prevailing Wages: non-public works projects.









         Chapter 343, Statutes of 2003

Establishes a mechanism for the determination of prevailing wage rates on non-public works projects, where a public and private entity voluntarily agree by contract that the employees will receive prevailing wages.

AB 1418
Laird


       



      Public works: penalties:

 





           Contractors’ State License Board web site.









         Chapter 849, Statutes of 2003

Establishes minimum penalties relating to violations of prevailing wage requirements, and require the Contractors State Licensing Board to make information regarding specified contractors available on its web site for willful violations of labor laws. 

AB 1506
Negrete McLeod





      Prevailing Wage.









         Chapter 851, Statutes of 2003

Requires the body awarding any contract for a public works project financed with funds made available by the Safe, Reliable High-Speed Passenger Train Bond Act for the 21st Century to adopt and enforce a labor compliance program for application to the public works project.

* * *

Workers’ Compensation

BACKGROUND 

Workers' compensation, implemented in California in 1913, is a no-fault system, entitling workers to compensation for illness or injury arising out of and in the course of work duties, regardless of the blame which might otherwise be placed on the employer or the employee. The workers' compensation system is premised on a bargain between employers and employees: Employees are supposed to receive benefits for on-the-job injuries. In return, workers’ compensation benefits, which entitle workers to receive medical treatment at no cost to the employee, and which include indemnity and vocational rehabilitation benefits, are the exclusive remedy of the injured worker.

Benefit Structure
There are five basic types of workers' compensation benefits, depending on the nature and severity of the worker's injury: Medical care, temporary disability benefits, permanent disability benefits, vocational rehabilitation services, and death benefits. 

Temporary Disability Benefits : Those workers unable to return to work within three days are entitled to temporary disability benefits to partially replace wages lost as a result of the injury. The benefits are generally designed to replace two-thirds of the lost wages, up to a specified maximum. Beginning 1/1/03 the maximum is $602, which increases to $728 on 1/1/04 and to $840 on 1/1/05. For injuries occurring in 2006, the maximum temporary disability rate will be $840 per week or the state average weekly wage (SWAA), whichever is greater. Starting with injuries in 2007, the maximum limit will be $840 plus the percent increase in SAWW or the actual SAWW, whichever is greater. For dates of injury in 2003 through 2006, injured employees who are temporarily disabled with wages less than $189 are entitled to a weekly TD rate of $126. Starting with injuries in 2007, the minimum limit will be $126 plus the percent increase in the SAWW. After 2007, the TD minimum and maximum limits will be indexed every year to the percent increase in the SAWW. Temporary disability benefits are payable every two weeks, on a day designated with the first payment, until the employee is able to return to work or until the employee's condition becomes permanent and stationary. 

Permanent Disability Benefits : Injured workers who are permanently disabled are entitled to receive permanent disability benefits. These benefits are intended to compensate the worker for his or her loss of ability to compete in an open labor market.  A worker who is determined to have a permanent total disability receives payments at the temporary disability rate for life. For injuries occurring on or after 1/1/03, permanent total disability awards, and the life pension portion of awards of more than 70%, will be adjusted annually based on the increase in the SAWW.  A worker determined to have a permanent partial disability receives weekly benefits for a period which increases with the percentage of disability. Permanent partial disability benefits are also payable at two-thirds of the injured workers' average weekly wages, but are subject to a lower maximum. The maximum permanent disability (PD) rate increases from $185 in 2003 to $230 by 1/1/06 for those cases claiming less than 70 percent PD and from $230 to 2003 to $270 by 1/1/06 for those claiming 70 percent or more. The minimum PD rate increases from $100 in 2003 to $130 in 2006. 

Vocational Rehabilitation Services : Injured workers who are permanently precluded from returning to their former type of work are entitled to vocational rehabilitation services if these services can reasonably be expected to return the worker to suitable gainful employment. This includes the development of a suitable plan, the cost of any training, and a maintenance allowance while participation in rehabilitation. The maintenance allowance payable to an injured worker while in rehabilitation is, like temporary disability benefits, designed to replace two-thirds of lost earnings, but the maximum weekly amount is lower -- $246 per week. The worker may, however, supplement the maintenance allowance with advances of permanent disability benefits up to the point where the worker is receiving the same weekly amount as he or she received in temporary disability benefits. Total costs for rehabilitation are limited to $16,000. For injuries that occur on or after 1/1/03 an employer and a represented employee may settle the employee's right to prospective vocational rehabilitation services with a one-time payment to the employee not to exceed $10,000 for the employee's use in self-directed vocational rehabilitation. For injuries that occur on or after 1/1/04, the VR program is replaced with an educational voucher program under which a permanently disabled injured worker who does not return to work or is not offered suitable alternative or modified work within 60 days of the end of the TD period is entitled to an educational stipend, ranging from $4,000 to $10,000, depending on the level of disability. 

Death Benefits: In the event a worker is fatally injured, reasonable burial expenses, up to $5,000, are paid. In addition, the worker's dependents may receive support payments for a period of time. These payments are generally payable in the same manner and amount as temporary disability benefits, but the minimum rate of payment is $224 per week. Effective 1/1/06 death benefits will double: from $125,000 to $250,000 for one dependent; from $145,000 to $290,000 for two dependents; and from $160,000 to $320,000 for three dependents. Effective 1/1/04; if no dependents exist, a benefit payment of $250,000 will go the employee's estate. 
4850 Time:  Existing law provides for a leave-of-absence up to one year with full pay in lieu of workers' compensation temporary disability payments for specified disabled public safety employees, including police officers; firefighters; sheriffs; district attorney and Department of Justice law enforcement personnel, members of the Highway Patrol, probation officers, and specified peace officers and lifeguards employed by the County of Los Angeles.
This disability leave is also known as “4850 time” after the Labor Code section that provides for this benefit.

The Benefit Delivery System

Unlike most social insurance programs (e.g., social security, unemployment compensation), workers' compensation in California, as well as in most other states, is not administered by a government agency. Workers' compensation benefits are administered primarily by private parties -- insurance companies authorized to transact workers' compensation and those employers secure enough to be permitted to self-insure their workers' compensation liability.  The system is intended to be self-executing.  That is, benefits are to be provided to eligible workers without any action by the state.

The state's role in benefit delivery is to oversee the provision of workers' compensation benefits, provide information and assistance to employees, employers, and others involved in the system, and to resolve disputes that arise in the process.

Litigation in the System

The vast majority of workers' compensation claims are handled expeditiously and are administered without dispute or litigation. These are, for the most part, the smaller claims -- those in which only medical care is provided and those in which the injured worker is disabled for only a few days. These smaller claims account for approximately 80% of all workers' compensation claims.

The balance of the claims -- those in which there are significant periods of disability or permanent disability -- account for the vast majority of costs and litigation. In these more serious cases, litigation is common. 

Most workers' compensation cases are litigated initially before workers' compensation judges employed by the Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC).  The decisions of workers' compensation judges are subject to reconsideration by the seven member Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB). A WCAB decision is reviewable only by the appellate court.

Most disputed or "litigated" cases are settled without a decision being rendered by a workers' compensation judge. Most case dispositions are compromise and release settlements -- settlements in which all future liability is released in return for a lump sum payment.  Most other cases are resolved through a stipulated award providing for agreed levels of indemnity and an award of future medical treatment.  If cases are not closed through a compromise and release agreement, they may be reopened for “new and further” disability by a petition filed within five years of the date of the injury.

Applicants’ attorneys fees must be approved by a workers' compensation judge, and are generally 9-15% of the settlement amount. Defense attorneys' fees are not regulated.

The Benefit Financing System

The benefit financing system is the process by which employers finance their liability for workers' compensation benefits. Employers may finance their liability for workers' compensation benefits by one of three methods: (1) self-insurance, (2) private insurance, or (3) state insurance.
Self-Insurance:  Most large, stable employers and most government agencies are self-insured for workers' compensation. To become self-insured, employers must obtain a certificate from the Department of Industrial Relations. Private employers must post security as a condition of receiving a certificate of consent to self-insure.
Private Insurance:  Employers may purchase insurance from any of the approximately 300 private insurance companies which are licensed by the Department of Insurance to transact workers' compensation insurance in California. Insurance companies are free to price this insurance at a level they deem appropriate for the insurance and services provided.

State Insurance:  Employers may also purchase insurance from the State Compensation Insurance Fund, a state operated entity that exists solely to transact workers' compensation insurance on a non-profit basis. It actively competes with private insurers for business, and it also effectively operates as the assigned risk pool for workers' compensation insurance.
Special Funds:  In addition, there are two special funds that pay benefits to injured workers under some circumstances: (1) the Uninsured Employers Fund, and (2) the Subsequent Injuries Fund.

Uninsured Employers Fund:  When an employee is injured while working for an employer who is unlawfully uninsured, and the employer fails to pay or post a bond to pay the compensation due the employee, the employee's compensation is paid from the Uninsured Employers Fund. An attempt is made to recover the amount paid from the uninsured employer.
About 1,000 to 1,500 new claims are filed with the Uninsured Employers Fund annually, at a cost that has reached about $24 million per year. Most of this cost has traditionally been paid by an annual General Fund appropriation.  Beginning in 2004, the UEF will be funded through employer assessment.

Subsequent Injuries Fund:  When an employee has a previous permanent disability or impairment and sustains a subsequent injury, the employer is not liable for the combined disability, but only for that caused by the later injury. However, when the combined permanent disability is at least 70% and certain other criteria are met, the employee may receive additional compensation from the Subsequent Injuries Fund. 

About 400 claims are filed with the Subsequent Injuries Fund annually, at a cost of about $6.5 million. About half the cost is financed by death benefits paid to the state in cases where the deceased employee had no dependents and the balance is paid by an annual General Fund appropriation.
Medical Treatment

Background: An injured worker is entitled to medical treatment that is reasonably required to cure or relieve the effects of the injury.  This treatment includes medical, surgical, chiropractic and hospital treatment, including nursing, medicines, medical and surgical supplies, and crutches. These services may be provided by a physician, surgeon, psychologist, acupuncturist, optometrist, dentist, podiatrist, or chiropractor. Maximum medical and hospital expenses are subject to a medical fee schedule and an inpatient hospital fee schedule promulgated by the Administrative Director of the Division of Workers’ Compensation (AD).  Beginning in 2004 a Medicare based out-patient facility fee schedule and a Medi-CAL based pharmaceutical fee schedule will also be promulgated by the AD.
Managed Care: An employer may control the medical treatment of an injured worker for 30 days.  After 30 days, the worker may receive treatment from a physician of his or her choice.  The worker may receive treatment from his or her personal physician if the worker designates this choice prior to the injury.
If the worker has not pre-designated a personal physician, the worker must receive care from a health care organization (HCO) for 90 days, if the employer does not offer health care for non-occupational illness or injury and the employee has chosen to receive treatment from one of the HCO’s offered by the employer.  If the employer offers health care for non-occupational illness or injury, the employee is required to be treated by a HCO for 180 days.

Medical – Legal Examinations:  Disputes requiring medical-legal evidence may occur regarding the compensability of an injury, the employee’s entitlement to medical treatment and/or temporary disability, whether the employee’s condition has become “permanent and stationary,” and if, so, the extent of permanent disability.  The treating physician makes the initial determination on such issues. If the employer or employee disputes the physician’s report, both are entitled to obtain an additional medical legal report at the employer’s expense. If the worker is not represented by an attorney, the worker may choose a qualified medical evaluator (QME) from a list of three QME’s furnished by the Division of Workers’ Compensation.  If the worker is represented, the parties are required to attempt to select an agreed medical evaluator (AME).  If the parties cannot reach agreement each party is permitted to obtain a report from a QME at the expense of the employer. The employee may obtain additional reports at his or her expense. 

If a worker is permanently disabled, when the condition becomes “permanent and stationary” the treating physician completes an evaluation and determines the extent of the permanent disability.  If the report is disputed, the parties may seek an additional evaluation from an AME or QME following procedures that are similar in disputed cases of compensability.
The medical – legal report is used to determine the extent of disability and is expressed as a percentage after being modified by age and occupation.  Medical – legal expenses are subject to a fee schedule promulgated by the administrative director.

Treating Physician’s Presumption of Correctness: The primary treating physician (PTP) or the physician’s designee is required to "render opinions on all medical issues necessary to determine eligibility for compensation."  When additional medical reports are obtained for assessment of permanent disability, permanent and stationary status, medical eligibility for vocational rehabilitation, medical treatment, and the existence of new and further disability, the findings of the treating physician are presumed to be correct. This presumption is rebuttable and may be controverted by a preponderance of medical opinion indicating a different level of impairment.
The presumption was established by the 1993 workers’ compensation reforms and was meant to reduce the frequency of medical reports by reducing the incentive of any party to request a report from a second (or third) forensic physician. Since the original report by the treating physician is presumed correct, it is less likely that a second report will prevail in a dispute and hence less likely that one will be requested. 

This presumption was repealed for all injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2004, except where the treating physician has been pre-designated by the injured worker.  The repeal was made retroactive only, for issues involving the scope and extent of medical treatment. 

Presumptions:  If specified public safety personnel (peace officers and firefighters) suffer a hernia, heart trouble, hepatitis, meningitis, pneumonia, cancer or tuberculosis, or other codified injuries, the injury or illness is presumed to be compensable if the problem develops or manifests itself during a period of service by the worker.  Other evidence may controvert the presumption.  If not controverted, the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board is bound to find that the injury or illness "arose out of and in the course of employment."  Thus, it becomes compensable.

These presumptions apply to, among others, full or part-time law enforcement personnel employed by a sheriff or a police department and firefighters employed by any city, county or district fire departments.  The presumptions do not apply to employees whose principal duties are clerical and clearly do not fall within the scope of active law enforcement or fire-fighting duties.  Generally, the presumptions extend to a period beyond employment equaling three months for each year of service, but not more than 5 years.

Carve-Outs:  In 1993, the first carve-outs were statutorily authorized for the construction industry.  Subsequent legislation expanded carve-out eligibility to all building trades.  The 2003 reform package expanded carve-out eligibility to all unionized employees, so long as (1) the carve-out agreement is negotiated separately from the collective bargaining agreement; (2) the carve-out agreement does not preclude an injured worker’s right to counsel; and (3) the employer employs at least 50 employees.  Carve-out programs entitle the employer and his employees to engage in an alternative dispute resolution process for purposes of settling workers’ compensation disputes.  Carve-out agreements work well for all types of employers because the enabling legislation is not overly restrictive, authorizing employers and employees to create a system, which works for them, so long as employee benefits are in no way diminished.  The programs have resulted in reduced medical and litigation costs, and improved return to work statistics. 

Workers’ Compensation Insurance in California

In 1993, the law that required that workers’ compensation insurance premiums be priced at a minimum rate was repealed in an attempt to spur competition in the sluggish insurance market.  Insurers – particularly national companies -- began under-pricing their product in an attempt to grab market share under the new “open rating” system. At one point in the late 1990s, insurers were selling workers compensation insurance at an average loss ratio of $1.85.  This means that for every $1 in premium, they were paying out $1.85.  In addition to overly aggressive selling practices, insurers also passed on the costs of impractical stock-market investments, insurer insolvency, and myriad other negative market trends.

Conference Committee

In the 2003 session, legislators introduced 54 workers’ compensation bills.  While many of these bills passed out of their houses of origin, as the session drew to a close it became evident that the more contentious workers’ compensation issues were not close to resolution.  In July of 2003, the leaders of both houses established a conference committee for the purpose of crafting compromise language.  On September 9, 2003, after weeks of negotiations, the conference committee voted out the following bills, as amended in conference:  SB 228 (Alarcón), SB 1007 (Speier), SB 1071 (Vincent), AB 149 (Cohn), AB 227 (Vargas), AB 968 (Correa), AB 1099 (Negrete McLeod) and AB 1262 (Matthews.)  On September 12, 2003, all of these bills, but SB 1071 and AB 968 were passed out of the floors of both houses.  On Tuesday, September 30, 2003, Governor Davis signed the conference committee package (including AB 1557 (Vargas) –which was not voted out as part of the original conference committee report (but which was amended on the Senate floor to be reflective of committee report clean up language) into law.  Below are synopses of the changes implemented through enactment of the conference committee bills.

SB 228 (Alarcón) (Chapter 639) 

ADMINISTRATIVE REORGANIZATION

1. ELIMINATION OF THE INDUSTRIAL MEDICAL COUNCIL (IMC) AND TRANSFER OF FUNCTIONS TO DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION: In order to accomplish these changes, two sections [L.C. sec. 139 and 139.1] are repealed and a number of other sections are amended to strike the IMC or to change references from the IMC to the Administrative Director (AD) or DWC. These include G.C. sec. 12813 and L.C. secs. 29, 110, 122, 124 127.6, 139.2, 139.31, 139.4, 139.45, 4061, 4062, 4062.5, 4062.9, 4068, 4628, and 5307.3. Note that some of these sections are also amended to accomplish other reform purposes. Uncodified provisions transfer assets of the IMC and the Industrial Medicine Fund to the WCARF. All IMC regulations, other than the treatment guidelines, which are repealed, continue in effect as AD regulations. All Qualified Medical Examiner (QME) appointments, terms, and disciplinary proceedings are unaffected by the elimination of the IMC. 

2. FIVE-YEAR TERM FOR COURT ADMINISTRATOR L.C. sec. 138.1 gives the Court Administrator a five-year term. 

FUNDING

3. PROVIDER LIEN FILING FEE: New L.C. sec. 4903.05 establishes a $100 filing fee for the initial lien filed by a medical provider, excluding Medi-Cal, VA, and public hospitals. Provides that the funds are to be collected by the Court Administrator and used to offset amount of assessments under Section 62.5. Court Administrator is to adopt regulations to implement this provision. 

UTILIZATION

4. UTILIZATION SCHEDULE: New L.C. sec. 77.5. Requires CHSWC to conduct a survey and evaluation of existing medical treatment utilization standards by July 1, 2004, and to issue a report of its findings and recommendations by October 1, 2004, for adoption of a utilization schedule. The report shall be updated periodically. 

5. TREATING PHYSICIAN’S PRESUMPTION OF CORRECTNESS: L.C. sec. 4062.9. Repeals the treater’s presumption of correctness for all dates of injury, except in cases where the employee has "pre-designated" his or her personal physician or chiropractor, pursuant to section 4600. The retroactive repeal applies only to issues relating to the scope and extent of medical treatment. The repeal does not apply to petitions to reopen existing awards. 

6. UTILIZATION SCHEDULE PRESUMPTION: New L.C. sec. 4604.5. Upon adoption by the AD of a utilization schedule pursuant to section 5307.27, it shall be presumptively correct on the issue of extent and scope of medical treatment. Effective three months after the publication date of the updated American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine and Occupational Medical Practice Guidelines, the ACOEM guidelines will constitute the presumptively correct standard until adoption of a schedule by the AD. The section specifies the required characteristics and purposes of the recommended guidelines to be adopted by the AD. For injuries not covered by the ACOEM guidelines or the schedule, treatment shall be in accordance with other evidence-based medical treatment guidelines generally recognized by the medical community. 

7. CAP ON CHIROPRACTIC AND PHYSICAL THERAPY TREATMENTS: New L.C. sec. 4604.5(d). For injuries occurring on and after 1/1/04, limits chiropractic and physical therapy treatment to 24 visits for the life of the claim. The caps shall not apply when an insurance carrier authorizes, in writing, additional visits. 

8. UTILIZATION REVIEW: New L.C. sec. 4610. Requires all employers to adopt utilization review systems consistent with the utilization schedule/ACOEM. In cases involving spinal surgery, denials will go to expedited second-opinion process established in section 4062 (b). In all other cases, the existing QME/AME process under section 4062 will continue to apply. This is a complex provision with many time limits and the provision for assessment of unspecified administrative penalties by the AD for violations. These penalties are not an exclusive remedy. 

9. AD UTILIZATION SCHEDULE ADOPTION REQUIREMENT: New L.C. sec. 5307.27. Requires the AD, in consultation with CHSWC, to adopt a medical treatment utilization schedule by December 1, 2004, based on CHSWC study recommendations pursuant to section 77.5. 

10. SPINAL SURGERY SECOND OPINION: New L.C. sec. 4062 (b). Establishes procedure for employers to obtain a second opinion on recommendations for spinal surgery. If the employee is represented by an attorney, the parties shall seek agreement on a California-licensed board-certified or board-eligible orthopedic surgeon or neurosurgeon to prepare a second opinion resolving the disputed surgical recommendation. If no agreement is reached in 10 days or if the employee is not represented by an attorney, an orthopedic surgeon or neurosurgeon shall be randomly selected by the AD to prepare a second opinion resolving the disputed surgical recommendation. If the second opinion concurs in the treater’s recommendation, the surgery is authorized. If the second opinion determines that the proposed surgery is not reasonably necessary, then parties proceed to expedited hearing. The employer is not liable for costs of surgery or associated TD when the surgery is performed prior to the completion of the second-opinion procedure. This provision sunsets on January 1, 2007. Effective January 1, 2007, the process reverts back to pre-January 1, 2004. [New L.C. 4062.01]. 

11. SPINAL SURGERY STUDY BY CHSWC: An uncodified provision requires CHSWC to conduct a study of the spinal surgery second-opinion process. 

12. LC 5703 TREATMENT PROTOCOLS: Makes specified treatment protocols admissible before WCAB and provides procedures related to admission. 

SELF-REFERRAL

13. SELF-REFERRAL PROHIBITION: L.C. sec. 139.3. Adds outpatient surgery clinics to list of prohibited self-referrals by physicians. 

14. SELF-REFERRAL DISCLOSURE: L.C. sec. 139.31. Allows self-referral to outpatient surgery center where the provider discloses the financial relationship to the employer and the employer pre-authorizes the treatment at the center.

ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION ("CARVE-OUTS")

15. REPEAL OF AB 749 CARVE-OUT: L.C. sec 3201.7. The aerospace and timber carve-out is repealed. 

16. CARVE-OUT EXPANSION: New L.C. sec 3201.7. Establishes a new carve-out program, in any industry, except construction [already covered in 3201.5]. Only the union may initiate the process by petitioning the AD. The AD will review and issue a letter allowing a one-year window for negotiations. The parties may request a one-year extension. Minimum employer premium = $50,000. Minimum group premium = $500,000. Any agreement must include right of counsel throughout the alternative dispute resolution process. Agreements must be drafted separately from collective bargaining agreements.

FRAUD

17. MEDICAL BILLING FRAUD: New L.C. sec. 3823. Requires the AD to adopt a medical billing fraud referral protocol in coordination with the Bureau of Fraudulent Claims of the Department of Insurance, the Medi-Cal Fraud Task Force, and the Bureau of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse of the Department of Justice. Requires any insurer, employer, TPA, WCJ, attorney, or other person who believes that a fraudulent medical treatment claim has been made to report the apparent fraudulent claim. 

PHARMACEUTICALS

18. GENERIC DRUG REQUIREMENT: New L.C. sec. 4600.1. Requires greater use of generic drugs beyond pharmacies to other providers. 

19. REPEAL OF EXISTING PHARMACEUTICAL LANGUAGE: L.C. sec. 5307.2. Repeals existing pharmaceutical schedule language. 

PAYMENT REQUIREMENTS

20. PROMPT PAYMENT: L.C. sec. 4603.2. Changes time to pay medical bills from 60 calendar days to 45 working days from the date of complete billing, unless the employer is a governmental entity, in which case the time is 60 working days. Increases penalty for late payment from 10% to 15%. Provides for repayment by the defendant of the lien-filing fee if any contested amount is determined payable by the WCAB. 

21. ELECTRONIC BILLING: New L.C. sec. 4603.4. Requires AD to adopt regulations on electronic payment by January 1, 2005. All employers must accept electronic billing by July 1, 2006. If bills are sent electronically and are within the fee schedule, payment must be made within 15 days of receipt. 

MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULES

22. REPEAL OF EXISTING OMFS LANGUAGE: L.C. sec. 5307.1. Existing OMFS language repealed. 

23. NEW FEE SCHEDULE: New L.C. sec. 5307.1. 100% of  Medi-Cal for pharmaceuticals. Inpatient hospital at 120% of Medicare, 120% of the Medicare hospital outpatient department fee for hospital outpatient departments and ambulatory surgery centers; these provisions become effective 1/1/04. Until then the criteria for determining reasonable fees for outpatient facilities enunciated in the KUNZ en banc decision will apply.

 
Provides that the existing OMFS for physician services will remain in effect in 2004 and 2005, but fees will be reduced by 5%. As of 1/1/06, the AD will have the authority to adopt an OMFS for physician services, which need not be based on Medicare schedule. 

24. ACCESS TO CARE STUDY/AD AUTHORIZATION: New L.C. sec. 5307.2. AD to conduct an annual access study. Authorizes adjustments to medical and facility fees where AD documents substantial access problems. 

25. REPEALS EXISTING OUTPATIENT LANGUAGE: L.C. sec. 5307.21. Repeals existing outpatient schedule provision. 

26. IMPLANTABLE MEDICAL DEVICES: New L.C. sec. 5318 Repeals AD "pass-through" regulations. Provides that instrumentation, implants, and hardware for specified DRGs will be paid at documented paid costs + 10% (up to $250), plus taxes, shipping, and handling. Expires when AD adopts new schedule provisions for these items. 

IIPP

27. INSURER REVIEW OF EMPLOYER’S INJURY AND ILLNESS PREVENTION PLAN: New L.C. sec. 6401.7(l). Requires insurer review of insured’s injury and illness prevention plan within four months of commencement of the initial policy term. The reviewer must be an independent licensed professional as specified. 

INSURANCE MARKET REPORTING

28. INSURANCE COMMISSIONER REPORT TO THE LEGISLATURE: Uncodified Section 52.5 requires the Insurance Commissioner to report to the Legislature by July 1, 2004, and annually thereafter, on the financial condition of SCIF. The Commissioner is to review and analyze SCIF’s underwriting practices and rate structure and report on the potential for reducing rates. 

AB 227 (Vargas) (Chapter 635) 

CALIFORNIA INSURANCE GUARANTEE ASSOCIATION (CIGA) CHANGES

1. CIGA BOND AUTHORITY THROUGH INFRASTRUCTURE BANK: Gov’t Code sections 63010, Article 8 (commencing with new section 63049.6, and 63071). Provides that loan monies financed by Calif. Infrastructure and Economic Development Bank are available to CIGA for payment of cost of claims of insolvent insurers. 

2. EXCLUDES 5814 & 5814.5 PENALTIES FOR DELAY FROM THE DEFINITION OF "COVERED CLAIMS" BY CIGA: Ins. Code sec. 1063.1(c)(8). Provides that CIGA is not responsible for paying 5814 and 5814.5 claims for unreasonable delay or claim refusal when penalties were in response to actions taken by insolvent insurance companies prior to administration by CIGA. 

FRAUD

3. INCREASE IN FINE FOR COMMITTING FRAUD IN OBTAINING OR DENYING COMPENSATION: Ins. Code sec. 1871.4 (b). Increases the fine from $50,000 to $150,000 for making knowingly false or fraudulent statements for the purpose of obtaining or denying any compensation. 

GROUP INSURANCE

4. GROUP INSURANCE FOR MANUFACTURING FACILITIES: New Ins. Code sec. 11656.6 (b)(8). Expands group insurance for manufacturing industry. 

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER RESPONSIBILITIES

5. REQUIREMENT OF INSURANCE COMMISSIONER TO CONSIDER PROJECTED SAVINGS IN SETTING PURE PREMIUM ADVISORY RATES: New Ins. Code sec. 11735.1. Requires Insurance Commissioner to evaluate projected savings from bills passed in the 2003-04 session and include them in determination of advisory pure premium rates and that insurers’ filed rates also reflect these savings. 

6. REQUIRES INSURANCE COMMISSIONER TO ESTABLISH AND MAINTAIN ONLINE RATE COMPARISON GUIDE FOR TOP 50 WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE CARRIERS: New Ins. Code section 11742(a), (b) & (c). Expresses legislative finding that insolvencies have constricted the insurance market but that a central updated online information source comparing insurance rates would increase consumer power of employers buying workers’ compensation coverage. Requires creation of online guide comparing rates and indicating effective dates of each rate. 

7. REQUIRES COST SAVINGS DETERMINED BY THE WCIRB BE REFLECTED IN PREMIUM RATES FOR 2004 AND THAT CERTIFICATIONS BE POSTED ON THE INTERNET: New Ins. Code sec. 11742 (d). Requires WCIRB to determine cost savings of 2003 reform legislation and requires each insurer writing coverage to publicly certify that its filed rates reflect such cost savings. 

SCIF STAFFING ISSUES

8. PROVIDES SCIF WITH EXEMPTIONS FROM HIRING FREEZES: New Ins. Code sec. 11873(c). Positions funded by SCIF are exempt from hiring freezes and staff cutbacks otherwise required by law. 

FUNDING

9. USER FUNDING: Labor Code sec. 62.5. Provides for 100% user funding, specifies Legislative intent concerning priorities for funding including medical fraud reporting, communication of changes in medical fee schedules, clerical staffing and retention, and technology upgrades (electronic filing, calendar, case management). 

10. REQUIRES CHSWC STUDY ON REINSTITUTION OF INSURANCE RATE REGULATION: Uncodified Section 17 manifests the intent of the legislature to ensure fairness to workers and a predictable workers’ compensation market, and requires CHSWC to study the feasibility of re-instituting the minimum rate law to regulate the workers’ compensation market, to be phased in over a five-year period. 

VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION

11. REPEAL OF VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION: L.C. sec 139.5. Repeals existing vocational rehabilitation statute [Article 2.6 (commencing with Section 4635) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 4 of the Labor Code] as part of a repeal of the vocational rehabilitation mandate. 

12. SUPPLEMENTAL JOB DISPLACEMENT BENEFIT: New L.C. sec. 4658.5. Establishes a new supplemental job displacement benefit (SJDB) with savings from repeal of vocational rehabilitation. Provides that employees who do not return to work for their employer within 60 days of the end of TD period will receive a voucher of $4,000 for permanent partial disability of less than 15%; $6,000 for permanent partial disability between 15% and 25%; $8,000 for permanent partial disability between 26% and 49%; and $10,000 for permanent partial disability between 50% and 99%. The voucher must be used at state-approved or accredited schools for education-related retraining or skill enhancement, or both. The AD shall issue regulations governing the form of payment and other matters related to the proper administration of the benefit. Provides that up to 10 percent of SJDB can be used for counseling. Provides for employer notice to injured worker of availability of benefit. [NOTE: As the result of clerical error, new L.C. sec. 139.5 is identical to sec.4658.5.] 

13. LIMITATION ON EMPLOYER’S LIABILITY FOR SUPPLEMENTAL JOB DISPLACEMENT: New L.C. sec. 4658.6. Provides that the employer will not be liable for the supplemental job displacement benefit if, within 30 days of the end of TD, it offers modified or alternative work, and the employee rejects or fails to accept the offer. 

ADDITIONAL CONFERENCE COMMITTEE BILLS

1. SB 1007 (Speier) (Chapter 641): SPECIFIED MANUFACUTURING FACILITIES AS COMMON TRADE OR BUSINESS. Ins. Code sec. 11556.6. Existing law authorizes an insurer to issue a workers' compensation policy insuring an organization or association of employers subject to specified conditions, including requirements that the organization or association file certain documents with the commissioner or a licensed workers' compensation rating organization relating to (1) the percentage of its membership engaged in a common trade or business, and (2) the naming in certain statements of members eligible for insurance. The definition of "common trade or business" is now expanded to include specified types of manufacturing facilities (establishments engaged in the mechanical, physical, or chemical transformation of materials, substances, or components into new products). 

2. AB 149 (Cohn) (Chapter 831): ASBESTOSIS - FIREFIGHTERS. L.C. 5406.5. The one-year period from the date of death for commencing proceedings for workers’ compensation benefits in the case of death from asbestosis is extended to include firefighters who die of asbestosis. 

3. AB 1099 (Negrete McLeod) (Chapter 636): WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE FRAUD. Ins. Code secs. 1877.1, 1877.3, 1877.4, 1877.5. Includes the Employment Development Department as a government agency that is authorized to request and receive information regarding workers' compensation fraud. "Licensed rating organizations" (such as the WCIRB) are authorized to release information regarding workers' compensation fraud, as specified. 

4. AB 1262 (Matthews) (Chapter 637): CERTIFICATION OF CLAIMS ADJUSTERS/BILL REVIEW. New Ins. Code sec. 11761. The Insurance Commissioner is to adopt regulations setting forth the minimum standards of training, experience, and skill for claims adjusters. Insurers must certify to the Insurance Commissioner that personnel employed to adjust WC claims or those employed for that purpose by a medical bill review company meets the minimum standards. 

5. AB 1557 (Vargas) (Chapter 638): APPLICATION OF L.C. sec. 5814 TO UTILIZATION REVIEW. New L.C. sec. 4610.1 provides that periods of time reasonably required to conduct utilization review shall not be considered an unreasonable delay in the payment of compensation for purposes of determining "penalty" issues under L.C. sec. 5814. However, an unreasonable delay in the completion of utilization review may result in a penalty.   This bill did not go through the Labor and Industrial Relations Committee.  It went to the Senate Governmental Organization Committee instead.

_____________________________ 2003 LEGISLATION _____________________________

SB 229           Burton



          Workers' Compensation: Insurance 

                                                                                                       Held in Conference Committee

Prohibits the State Compensation Insurance Fund (SCIF) from raising small employer's premiums, for a two-year period, if such small employers are claim free for five years and if they provide health insurance coverage for their employees. Also, requires SCIF to investigate the feasibility of a permanent premium discount for employers who provide health insurance, and to require SCIF to submit their findings to the legislature by January 1, 2005. 

SB 354           Speier         





      Workers' Compensation

             




       Held in Conference Committee

Increases penalty for knowingly making false or fraudulent statements in connection with workers compensation from $50,000 to $100,000.  

Adds out-patient facilities and persons who have fiscal relationships with out-patient facilities to the list of those prohibited from self-referral for the purpose of workers' compensation. 

Requires the administrative director (AD) of the Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) in the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) to develop and maintain a system, using workers' compensation system data, for the purpose of monitoring and improving the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care services delivered to injured workers, and to report to the Legislature by July 1, 2004, on the plan for implementation and status of this system. It would also require the AD and the Commission on Health and Safety and Workers' Compensation (CHSWC), until the system is implemented, to conduct a review of certain data submitted by the State Compensation Insurance Fund and to report their findings and recommendations to the Legislature.

Establishes an independent medical review (IMR) and appeal processes for purposes of resolving disputed medical treatment services. Requires the DWC to contract with one or more IMR organizations for the purpose of conducting these IMR's.  Imposes an administrative penalty of $5,000 on employers who fail to comply with the IMR provisions within this bill. Prohibits an injured worker from receiving more than 15 chiropractor or physical therapy visits, unless the employee has received authorization from the employer and there has been an IMR by the Division of Managed Health Care. 

Requires employers to establish utilization review protocols and authorizes the AD to assess penalties for failure to comply.  Additionally, requires employers to establish utilization review appeals protocols.  

Repeals provision in existing law limiting the amount of fees payable to medical providers under contracts with the employees health benefit program for health care services rendered to employees. 

Authorizes a 6-year pilot Health Care Organization (HCO) project for coverage of occupational and non-occupational illness and injury.  

Prohibits liens against sums paid as compensation under specified conditions relating to the utilization review or IMR process. Exempts from 5814 penalties those medical treatments, which are subject to utilization review or IMR. 

AB 606
Liu



 Commission on Health and Safety and Workers’ 

   Compensation:  Activities.

          Held in Senate Committee on 

      Labor and Industrial Relations


Requires the Governor’s Advocate for Small Business (Advocate) and the Director of the Department of Industrial Relations (Director) to meet twice annually with small business representatives to deal with issues related to workers’ compensation.  Additionally, authorizes the Director and the Advocate to present these issues to the Commission on Health and Safety and Workers’ Compensation (Commission).  Finally, requires the Commission to utilize this information to the fullest extent possible.

AB 968
Correa



   Workers’ Compensation:  Bioterrorism.

        Held at Assembly Desk
Provides that any adverse reaction, injury, disability, or death suffered by an employee as a result of a vaccination or medication that is administered at the request or direction of the employer, or, pursuant to a specified provision of federal law, shall be deemed to have arisen out of and in the course of employment for the purposes of workers' compensation benefits.

AB 1215
Vargas


     


    Workers’ Compensation: 

State Compensation Insurance Fund.

 Held in Conference Committee on 

     Workers’ Compensation


Requires the State Compensation Insurance Fund, in consultation with the Employment Development Department (EDD), to develop a program that allows insurers offering workers' compensation insurance to have access to quarterly wage and withholding reports filed with EDD for the purpose of confirming payroll reported to the insurer for premium calculations . Also provides that any report provided by the EDD to an insurer would be required to include individual wage information, but not any employee's name, social security number, or date of birth. Requires that the program place specified restrictions on employer access to and use of this information, and further requires that the fund impose a user fee on admitted workers' compensation insurers in an amount sufficient to pay the costs of the program. Subjects insurers in violation of these provisions to a civil penalty.

AB 1324
Steinberg





    Workers’ Compensation: 

   Infectious Diseases:  Dependants.

 Held in Conference Committee on 

     Workers’ Compensation

Provides that if a person who is a specified state or local firefighting, law enforcement, or patrol member sustains an injury that meets the definition of a blood-borne infectious disease, and a dependent of that person contracts the blood-borne infectious disease from that person, the dependent may elect to receive compensation under the workers' compensation law, for the duration of the disease, for all medically necessary health care costs associated with the disease. Provides that if a dependent elects to receive workers' compensation, such compensation constitutes the sole and exclusive remedy of the dependent against the employer and the dependent may not bring a civil action against the employer for damages. 

AB 1483
Richman and Daucher



    Workers’ Compensation:  

Physicians:  Disability Ratings:  Claims:  

Training Requirements.

Held in Conference Committee
Requires every physician who treats and evaluates injured workers, on and after January 1, 2006, to be certified by the Industrial Medical Council (IMC) as a Qualified Workers' Compensation Physician (QWCP). Exempt physicians who are qualified medical evaluators from the QWCP certification requirement, and authorize the IMC to waive this requirement under certain circumstances. 

Requires the IMC, on or before January 1, 2005, to establish a QWCP certification program containing specified criteria. 

Requires the administrative director (AD) of the Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) in the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR), on or before January 1, 2005 to contract with a public or private university or policy institute in the state to develop physician utilization management, quality of care, billing, and outcome measurement data, and to publish a report, on or before July 1, 2006, and annually thereafter, that includes this data. 

Requires the AD, by January 1, 2005, to establish a mandatory annual training program for persons in the Disability Evaluation Unit within the DWC who determine permanent disability ratings for injured workers. 

Requires the AD, by January 1, 2005, to establish a mandatory annual insurance claim administrator training program for any person who is the primary handler of workers' compensation claims for an injured worker. 

AB 1578
Vargas


           Workers’ Compensation: Fraud Penalties.








Held in Conference Committee

Increases the maximum fine for making false or fraudulent statements with respect to any claim under the workers' compensation system from $50,000 to $150,000 or twice the amount of the fraud, whichever is greater. 

AB 1579
Cogdill et al





    Workers’ Compensation.








Held in Conference Committee
Extends the prohibition against self-referral to providers who have a financial interest in out-patient facilities.  Requires certification of all physicians providing workers' compensation treatment by the Industrial Medical Council (IMC).  

Requires the Administrative Director (AD) to contract with a research entity to develop physician utilization management, quality of care, billing, and outcome measurement data, and to publish a report regarding same.  

Requires the AD to establish a mandatory annual training program for persons who determine permanent disability ratings for injured workers.  

Requires the AD to establish a mandatory annual insurance claim administrator training program.  

Repeals provisions in existing law authorizing carve-outs, as specified, for the aerospace and timber industries.  Expands carve-outs in existing law, to be non-industry specific, but eliminates vocational rehabilitation provisions in these carve-outs.  

Amends the definition of injury for purposes of workers' compensation to rely on objective medical findings.  Amends liberal construction provision in current law to apply only after the injury has been deemed to have arisen out of and in the course of employment, is specific and results in serious bodily harm.  

Requires employees to prove by a preponderance of evidence that the injury was substantially caused by employment in order for a cumulative injury to be compensable.  

Requires psychiatric injuries to be proved by clear and convincing evidence. 

Requires that incarcerated individuals pre-incarceration average weekly wage be the basis for their compensation for work-related injuries and provides that the injured inmate's injury must be the predominant cause of the injury and may not be the result of the criminal act for which he has been convicted. 

Makes vocational rehabilitation voluntary rather than mandatory, at the option of the employer and would provide for a one-time payment of benefits. 

Requires applicants for employment to disclose whether they have ever been adjudicated of having committed a fraudulent act relating to workers' compensation.  

Authorizes an employer to contract with a PPO for health care services to be provided to injured employees under the workers' compensation laws and would provide for Independent Medical Review (IMR) under these contracts.  

Extends the time frame during which an employee who has not pre-designated a physician must be under the control of the employer for medical treatment from 30 to 120 days.  Provides that where an employee has failed to pre-designate and a health care service is disputed, the employee may request IMR.  Extends the generic unless otherwise prescribed pharmaceutical provision to all pharmaceutical dispensers.  Imposes additional reporting requirements on physicians.  

Requires employers to pay medical bills stemming from authorized treatment within 45 days of receipt.  Provides that if the employer contests, denies, or seeks review of medical billing, the employer shall only be required to pay any interest or increase in compensation for delayed payment if the provider objects in writing to the employer's written explanation for contesting, denying, or seeking review of the billing within 45 calendar days of receipt of payment, notice of nonpayment, or explanation of review and, precludes the provider from seeking further reimbursement or filing a lien if the provider fails to make this objection within the 45 calendar day period. 

Repeals the provision in existing law providing for a 10% increase to awards where benefits have been unreasonably delayed or denied.  Prescribes procedures under which the amount of the payment unreasonably delayed or denied would be increased to 25%, not to exceed $500.  Requires physicians to bill at the fee schedule rate and requires the AD to adopt an outpatient facility fee schedule.  Requires the AD to consult with the IMC prior to the adoption of an update to the official medical fee schedule.  Requires the AD to adopt a utilization schedule and provides for IMR.  

Provides that in apportionment determinations, the appeals board may not rely on any report that does not fully address the issue of apportionment.  

Provides for a conclusive presumption that a prior injury existed at the time of the subsequent injury if an applicant has received a prior permanent disability award.  Precludes the accumulation of permanent disability awards from exceeding 100% unless the employee's injury or illness is conclusively presumed to be total in character.  Prohibits the payment of permanent disability and death benefits unless the industrial injury is the predominant cause of the death or disability. 

Provides that the burden of proof for apportionment is borne by the injured worker.  Requires that all evaluations and reports regarding degree of permanent disability be based on demonstrable medical evidence using established medical guidelines regarding restriction of bodily function.  Prohibits disability ratings from being based on evaluations and reports that do not follow established medical guideline. 

SB 125
Chesbro


           Workers' compensation: Leave of Absence 

         for Disability: Welfare Fraud Investigators.

Vetoed by Governor

Extends the leave-of-absence in lieu of temporary disability (TD) benefits for injured public safety employees, also known as 4850 benefits, to injured county welfare fraud investigators or inspectors, who are peace officers as specified in the Penal Code, and coroners and deputy coroners.

SB 176

Johnson



          Workers’ Compensation Insurance:  

         Classification:  Notice.

Chapter 121, Statutes of 2003

Requires workers compensation insurance rating organizations to provide written notification, as specified, to policyholders when the rating organization imposes a change in the policyholder's classification assignment. 

SB 191

Alarcón





    Workers’ Compensation.







Held in Conference Committee
Provides a formula for the Insurance Commissioner (IC) to determine whether rates are excessive.  Requires the IC to disapprove rates, which are excessive.  Requires the IC to maintain an online comparison guide for workers' compensation insurance rates.  Requires insurers, desiring to use rates lower than the IC's pure premium rates, to file an application with the IC, and to provide for a method of review, determination and appeal as specified.  Requires an experience rating plan to contain a provision for rewarding employers that have been claim free for a specified length of time. 

SB 223

Margett



Workers’ Compensation:  Generic Drugs.







Held in Conference Committee
Expands the generic-drug-dispensing requirement imposed on pharmacies, to apply to any person or entity that dispenses medicines for a workers' compensation related injury, except under specified circumstances. 

SB 365

Johnson, et al





    Workers’ Compensation.








Held in Senate Labor and Industrial 

Relations Committee
Revises the causation requirement in workers' compensation for purposes of compensability and expands the circumstances under which an injury would not be compensable where an employee's criminal activity is the cause of the injury. 

SB 366
Johnson


         Psychiatric Injuries:  Compensation: Proof.

Held in Senate Labor and Industrial

Relations Committee

Requires employees to prove by clear and convincing evidence that their psychiatric injuries are work related for purposes of compensability. 

SB 414

McClintock




Workers’ Compensation:  Injuries.

Held in Senate Labor and Industrial Relations Committee
Revises the definition of injury as it pertains to workers' compensation to mean an injury or disease, which is certified by a physician using medical evidence based on objective medical findings. 

SB 457

McPherson and Margett 

 Workers’ Compensation:  Benefit Delays.








Held in Conference Committee
Expresses legislative intent that the State Division of Worker's Compensation review the effectiveness of specified provisions of current law in penalizing and deterring unreasonably late and denied benefit payments.

SB 629

Soto




          Licensed Health Care Professionals: 

Blood-Borne Infectious Disease.







Held in Senate Appropriations Committee

Extends the rebuttable presumption regarding blood-borne infectious disease to licensed health care professionals for purposes of receiving both disability retirement and workers' compensation benefits. 

SB 714

Battin



           Workers’ Compensation:  Apportionment.







Held in Senate Labor and 

Industrial Relations Committee

Requires apportionment determinations by the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (WCAB) to be based on specified medical documentation and creates a statutory presumption regarding apportionment where an employee has a prior permanent disability award. 

SB 731

Brulte




Workers’ Compensation:  Local Inmates:

Temporary Disability Benefits.







Held in Senate Labor and 

Industrial Relations Committee
Establishes, for specified local inmates, the maximum rate of temporary disability (TD) benefits to which they would be entitled if injured during the course of work duties while incarcerated. 

SB 757
Poochigian





    Workers’ Compensation:  

Official Utilization Schedule.

Held in Conference Committee

Requires the Administrative Director (AD) of the Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) in the Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) to adopt a utilization schedule based on a report by the Commission on Health and Safety and Workers’ Compensation by September 1, 2004.

SB 758

Poochigian





   Workers’  Compensation.







Held in Senate Labor and 

Industrial Relations Committee
Makes vocational rehabilitation voluntary rather than mandatory at the option of the employer and repeals the provision in existing law, which entitles an injured worker to a one-time cash settlement in lieu of workers' compensation vocational rehabilitation benefits. 

SB 759

Poochigian


           Workers’ Compensation:  Penalty Claims.







Held in Senate Labor and 

Industrial Relations Committee

Places a 90-day statute of limitations on the filing of a claim for penalties resulting from unreasonable delay or denial of compensation payments and prohibits employees from filing additional claims under more than one penalty provision in existing law. 

SB 867

Burton





    Workers’ Compensation:

Disability Evaluation: Acupuncturist.







Held in Senate Labor and 

Industrial Relations Committee
Authorizes the Industrial Medical Council (IMC) to appoint an acupuncturist as a qualified medical evaluator, but would require that the acupuncturist meet specified requirements. Deletes a provision of existing law that states that the inclusion of acupuncturists in the definition of "physician" shall not be construed to authorize acupuncturists to determine disability under specified provisions of the workers' compensation law or the law providing for non-industrial disability. 

SB 893

Morrow





    Workers’ Compensation:

Permanent Disability Schedule.







Held in Senate Labor and 

Industrial Relations Committee
Requires that "objective medical findings" be considered for purposes of permanent disability ratings for workers' compensation, and to require that the medical reports used to determine permanent disability ratings be based on specified medical publications. 

SB 899

Poochigian


     Workers’ Compensation:  Physician Referral.







Held in Conference Committee
Prohibits a physician from referring a person for outpatient surgery purposes if the physician or his or her immediate family has a financial interest with the person or in the entity that receives the referral. 

SB 1007
Speier



      Workers’ Compensation:  Insurance Policies.







Chapter 641, Statutes of 2003
Expands the definition of "common trade or business" for the purposes of association or trade group workers' compensation insurance policies to include manufacturing facilities as identified in the North American Industry Classification System. 

* * *

Unemployment Insurance &

State Disability Insurance

_____________________________ 2003 LEGISLATION _____________________________

SB 569 
Alarcón





  Unemployment Insurance:  

determination of benefits.







Held in the Senate Committee on Appropriations

Establishes an alternate base of earnings for Unemployment Insurance benefit determination. If benefits cannot be establish by the current system, then the most recent completed quarters of the benefit year can be used. 

SB 576

Alarcón


      Unemployment Insurance: extended benefits.







Held in the Senate Committee on Appropriations

In the absence of a completely federally funded extended jobless benefits program, provides for a change in the Federal-State program, financed by a 50-50 share, which would trigger extended jobless benefits for 13 weeks in the state sooner during high periods of unemployment. Also, it would provide for a study of the solvency and structure of the Unemployment Insurance Fund.

SB 595

Johnson

      Employment Development Department: information






Held in Senate Appropriations Committee

Requires the Employment Development Department to furnish reports to employers of their unemployment insurance reserve account statuses quarterly; authorizes EDD to provide such information electronically; and requires EDD to notify employers of discrepancies between a claimant's address as reported on an UI claim and what the department has on record for that claimant within five business days.

SB 727

Kuehl




  Family Temporary Disability Insurance.







Chapter 797, Statutes of 2003

Provides conforming, clarifying, and technical changes to the recently enacted family temporary disability insurance program.  

SB 962 
McClintock





  Unemployment Insurance: 

anti-fraud; computer upgrade.





Held in Assembly Appropriations Committee

Requires the Employment Development Department to take additional steps to verify eligibility of new unemployment insurance claimants and to upgrade computer systems to improve anti-fraud efforts.

AB 331
Kehoe





  
  Unemployment Insurance: 

lockout: waiting period.






Vetoed by Governor

Waives the current one-week unpaid waiting period for unemployment benefits when an individual's unemployment is due to an unforeseen lockout by the employer during a labor dispute.

In his veto message, the Governor said “…(t)his measure would place additional pressure on the States Unemployment Insurance fund, which is already strained due the current economic conditions.”

AB 978
Negrete McLeod

    California State University: disability benefits.







Chapter 841, Statutes of 2003

Requires the California State University Trustees (CSU Trustees) to become employers whose employees are eligible for payment of disability benefits from the Unemployment Compensation Disability Fund (Fund), provided that the election to become employers for this purpose is as a result of an election held by a recognized employee organization or through a negotiated agreement.

AB 1430
Shirley Horton




  Unemployment Insurance.








Chapter 183, Statutes of 2003

Increases the amount of calendar year earnings that an election poll worker may reasonably expect to earn in order to be exempt from unemployment insurance benefits from $200 to $1,000.

AB 1723
Assembly Committee on Labor and Employment 

 Mass layoffs, relocation, and termination notices.








Held at Senate Desk

Requires the Employment Development Department to make available information relating to mass-layoffs, relocations, and terminations, and makes changes to existing law regarding employee meal and rest periods.

* * *

Apprenticeship & Job Training

California has 22 labor and employment programs, 13 administering departments and 10 advisory councils, which provide employment and training services to 6.7 million people at a cost of $6 billion in both federal and state dollars. 

No single entity is responsible for state workforce policy development or implementation.  California's employment and training programs were created between 1917 to 1993 to address the needs of specific groups.  The separately administered programs each operate under a different set of rules.  Moreover, many of these programs perform similar functions and target overlapping client groups.

California's job training bodies include: a) The California Workforce Investment Board; b) The California Occupational Information Coordinating Council; c) The State Council on Vocational Education; d) The State Advisory Council on Refugee Assistance and Services; e) The California Post-secondary Education Commission; f) The Commission on Aging; g) The Employment Training Panel; h) The California Apprenticeship Council; i) The State Board of Education, the Board of Governor's, California Community Colleges.

In 1998, Congress abolished JTPA and created the Workforce Investment Act (WIA).  During 1999 and 2000, California will be required to phase out JTPA, and implement WIA.  The implementation of WIA will require the establishment of a state level governing body, state oversight and administrative procedures, state guidelines for coordination and collaboration, local governing bodies, designation of geographical service areas, and establishment of a local service delivery model.

According to the U.S. Department of Labor, the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 provides the framework for a unique national workforce preparation and employment system designed to meet both the needs of the nation’s businesses and the needs of job seekers and those who want to further their careers. Title I of the legislation is based on the following elements: 

- Training and employment programs must be designed and managed at the local level where the needs of businesses and individuals are best understood. 

- Customers must be able to conveniently access the employment, education, training, and information services they need at a single location in their neighborhoods. 

- Customers should have choices in deciding the training program that best fits their needs and the organizations that will provide that service.  They should have control over their own career development. 

- Customers have a right to information about how well training providers succeed in preparing people for jobs.  Training providers will provide information on their success rates. 

- Businesses will provide information, leadership, and play an active role in ensuring that the system prepares people for current and future jobs. 

The Act builds on the most successful elements of previous federal legislation.  Just as important, its key components are based on local and State input and extensive research and evaluation studies of successful training and employment innovations over the past decade. 

The new law makes changes to the current funding streams, target populations, system of delivery, accountability, long-term planning, labor market information system, and governance structure. 

Title I authorizes the new Workforce Investment System.  State workforce investment boards will be established and States will develop five-year strategic plans.  Governors will designate local "workforce investment areas" and oversee local workforce investment boards.  New youth councils will be set up as a subgroup of the local board to guide the development and operation of programs for youth.  Customers will benefit from a "One-Stop" delivery system, with career centers in their neighborhoods where they can access core employment services and be referred directly to job training, education, or other services. 

Title I requires that standards for success be established for organizations that provide training services and outlines a system for determining their initial eligibility to receive funds.  It establishes the funding mechanism for States and local areas, specifies participant eligibility criteria, and authorizes a broad array of services for youth, adults, and dislocated workers.  It also authorizes certain statewide activities and a system of accountability to ensure that customer needs are met. 

On October 10, 1999, Governor Davis, by Executive Order, established the California Workforce Investment Board.  The Board is to report to the Office of the Governor.  Each member of the Board appointed by the Governor serves at his pleasure.  The Speaker of the Assembly and the Senate Rules Committee will appoint two members each to the Board.  The Order also terminated the appointments to the State Job Training Coordinating Council.  The purpose of the Board is to perform the duties and responsibilities required by the federal WIA.

The Division of Apprenticeship Standards (DAS) administers California apprenticeship law and enforces apprenticeship standards for wages, hours, working conditions and the specific skills required for state certification as a journey person in an apprenticeable occupation. DAS promotes apprenticeship training, consults with program sponsors, and monitors programs to ensure high standards for on-the-job training and supplemental classroom instruction.

The California Apprenticeship Council (CAC) is responsible for providing policy advice on apprenticeship matters to the Director of Industrial Relations, issuing rules and regulations on specific apprenticeship subjects to be published in the California Code of Regulations, and conducting appeals hearings.

As administrator of apprenticeship, DIR's director investigates and issues determinations regarding apprentice disputes, and the CAC hears appeals of these determinations.

An apprenticeship is a written, formally structured program of on-the-job training and related classroom instruction.  The training is traditionally designed through the cooperative efforts of 

management, labor and government.  In the building trades, apprenticeship training is most commonly funded by training funds, established pursuant to collective bargaining agreements.

Apprentices are full-time paid employees whose employment continues after completion of their apprenticeships.  On completion of training, apprentices are certified and recognized as fully qualified, skilled employees.

An apprenticeship program sponsor may be a joint apprenticeship committee (composed of labor and management), unilateral management or labor apprenticeship committee, or an individual employer.

_____________________________ 2003 LEGISLATION _______________________

SB 817

Ducheny





    Nurse training programs.





         Held in the Assembly Labor and Employment Committee


Provides the training of nursing health care professionals as a funding priority of the 

Employment Training Panel.

AB 1028
Bermudez



           California Apprenticeship Council.








Chapter 842, Statutes of 2003

Re-authorizes the California Apprenticeship Council (CAC) to adopt industry-specific training criteria for use by apprenticeship programs.

AB 1061
Firebaugh


       Employment Training Panel: small business: aerospace projects.








Chapter 844, Statutes of 2003

Enhances small business access to Employment Training Panel programs, and establishes a pilot program designed to serve small suppliers in the aerospace and defense industry.

AB 1551
Kehoe





    Biotechnology Lab in San Diego.








Chapter 628, Statutes of 2003

Makes legislative declarations relating to the biotechnology industry in the San Diego region, and authorizes state and local entities to enter into agreements with a specified training center.

* * *

Classified School Employees

_____________________________ 2003 LEGISLATION _____________________________

AB 109
Dymally



   School employees: collective bargaining.








Chapter 276, Statutes of 2003

Specifically makes it unlawful for a public school employer to provide substantially inaccurate or misleading information regarding its financial resources during contract negotiations in response to a request for information by the labor organization. 

AB 290           Firebaugh



        Classified employees: notice of layoff.








Chapter 880, Statutes of 2003

Requires school and community college districts to provide classified school employees with 45 days notice of layoff and requires short-term employees to be given layoff notices before permanent classified employees are laid off. 

AB 503
Kehoe




           Schools: distribution of material by 

      employee organizations.






Held on Senate Floor

Permits use of school district or community college district facilities for the distribution or posting of written materials paid for by employee organizations urging the support or defeat of any ballot measure or candidate in a location that is not open or accessible to the general public.  

AB 918
Chan






           Classified employees. 








Chapter 280, Statutes of 2003

Provides that classified K-12 and community college employees working outside of their regular assignments during the school year, are to receive compensation and benefits for the additional assignment at the regular classified pay rate for the additional assignment.

AB 1038
Negrete McLeod

    Classified school employees: special education. 








Chapter 843, Statutes of 2003

Grants classified school employees the same rights that certificated employees have with regard to a reorganization of a special education program, and to provide parity regarding personal necessity leave.

Classified Employees & Other Legislation

_____________________________ 2003 LEGISLATION _______________________

SB 158

Alarcón



           Displaced public transit employees.







Chapter 103, Statutes of 2003

Establishes a bidding preference for public transit service contractors and subcontractors who agree to retain, for a period of at least 180 days, employees of the previous contractor or subcontractor. 

SB 160

Alarcón


           University of California: service contracts.







Held in the Senate Committee on Appropriations

Requires the University of California, for all new facilities operational after January 1, 2004, to show good cause before it utilizes a service contractor for work traditionally performed by university employees.

SB 253

Cedillo



     Public Schools: confidential employees.








Signed by the Governor








Chapter 190, Statutes of 2003

Repeals the existing authority of a public school employer to request a representative election except for specified reasons, and revises the definition of the term "confidential employee" to include only those employees who are required to develop or present management positions on employer-employee relations, or whose duties normally require access to confidential information that is used to develop the positions of management on employer-employee relations.

SB 398

Romero




 Health care employment agencies.






Held in Senate Appropriations Committee

Expands the number and type of referral agencies that would have to be licensed by the state, including nurses' registries and employment agencies, that are private, for-profit or nonprofit 

agencies which are engaged in the business of referring workers to a covered facility.

SB 927

Alarcón



State agencies: personal service contracts.

Held in the Senate Committee on

 Labor and Industrial Relations

Applies requirements of personal contracts by state agencies to supply a minimum level of wages and benefits to employees of subcontractors providing the same types of services in state-leased facilities where the state leases a substantial portion of the occupied floor space of the facility.

SB 974

Alarcón






      Public Contracts.

Held in the Senate Committee on Appropriations

Establishes parameters in the Public Contract Code to measure a   "socially responsible business", and provides those businesses a bid preference in procuring public contracts.

SB 996

Alarcón






  Living Wage Study.









Held at Assembly Desk

States legislative intent that, when funds become available, the Division of Labor Statistics 

and Research of the Department of Industrial Relations shall annually update a 2002 study titled, "Living Wages:  The Issues and the Impact", with specified requirements relating to the potential economic impact of a statewide living wage mandate on employees, employers, contractors and the government.

AB 446
Matthews


           State employees: timely payment of wages.






Vetoed by the Governor

Establishes requirements for the timely payment of wages of state employees, and to provide civil and misdemeanor penalties for violations of those requirements, similar to private sector employers. 

In his veto message the Governor said “…the provisions of this bill would result in increased workload and undetermined costs to the State Controller, resulting from the necessary revamping of the payroll system.   At a time when the State is operating with limited staff resources and striving to further reduce State expenditures, this bill is unnecessary.”

AB 899
Wiggins




 Labor relations: state firefighters: 

binding arbitration.







Vetoed by the Governor

Extends binding arbitration rights over economic disputes to firefighters of the state Department of Forestry and Fire Protection.

AB 1093
Lieber






   Employment: living wage:

 state and service contracts.






Vetoed by the Governor

Establishes a living wage to be paid to employees of the state and specified service contractors and subcontractors doing business with state government.

In his veto message the Governor said “…this bill would: result in increased General Fund costs that are not included in the Budget Act of 2003; increase contracting costs for all state departments at a time when they can least afford it; reduce competition for state contracts,

thereby driving up costs and limiting the types of solutions available to state agencies; raise policy concerns about the appropriateness of paying a living wage to high school and college students, who work part time for the state and who are presumably not independent wage earners; and (i)n addition, it is not clear which state entity, the Department of Finance or the Department of Industrial Relations, would be responsible for adjusting the wage annually, nor under what circumstances the CCPI would be discarded in favor of an adequate living wage standard as determined by DIR.”

AB 1230
Hancock




   Higher education labor relations:

proof of majority support.








Chapter 216, Statutes of 2003

Establishes a procedure for card-check recognition for employee unions at the University of California and the California State University, in lieu of an election.

AB 1669
Holloway






           Sheepherders.

Returned to Secretary of the Senate 

pursuant to Joint Rule 56

Grants a 37-minute cultural break per day to sheepherders.  This measure was not heard in Committee due to the author not being a duly-elected legislator.

AB 2995
Holloway






         Pension credits.

Returned to Secretary of the Senate 

pursuant to Joint Rule 56

Grants Britton Mc Fetridge one extra year of state pension credits. This measure was not heard in Committee due to the author not being a duly-elected legislator.

* * *
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